Girls Varsity Soccer · Girls Varsity Soccer beats Thornapple-Kellogg 1 – 0

0 Thornapple-Kellogg High School
1 South Christian High School
Away   Home
Away Home
Thornapple-Kellogg High School vs South Christian High School
0 1
1 -   -
2 -   1

South Christian defended their home turf perfectly on Thursday night against the always dangerous and hard-charging TK Trojans. The match was an anticipated replay of an earlier game between the league leaders at TK which was decided by one goal and this one was going to be more of the same. From the opening whistle the more-than-familiar Sailors and Trojans battled to gain the advantage in the midfield with each team making some headway into the attacking third. South took the lead in shots the first half, 3-1, with some final third creative movement and close chances on frame. TK themselves were effective on the quick and direct counter attack but, as has been the case this season, South’s back line defenders Morgan Rottman, Sydney Clearly, Savannah Bosselaar, Alaina Koster and Cierra Gabirelse turned away the Trojans.
Halftime stood 0-0 but the Sailors felt they were close to finding the net and with some minor halftime refreshers they were able take the lead just 5 minutes into the second half on a ball served in from the right side from Emma DeVries. As the ball came through the middle Alyssa Visser positioned herself to shield off her defender as the ball rolled through to an open Mackenzie Selvius who deliberately placed her shot to the right of the keeper into the open net for the goal. The tussle continued through the second half with South appearing to gain a little more advantage in possession and chances and leading again in shots. TK however, as typical, never backed down, brought their best response and even within the final minute closed in on a loose ball and shot it from close range just over the bar. South grabbed the victory in a very well played match by both teams.
South will next host Holland Christian on Friday, May 18, 4:00pm. Halftime will include honoring the 2013 State Champions.